AHA News |  

Thank Members of the House for Standing up for our Secular Heritage

On Thursday of last week, the U.S. House of Representatives voted 410-8 in favor of a divisive resolution that directs the Architect of the Capitol to engrave the words "In God We Trust" and the Pledge of Allegiance onto the walls of the Capitol Visitor Center. This resolution blatantly promotes religion and distorts the secular history of our government. Moreover, it sends a message that excludes millions of nontheistic Americans.

Please take the time to thank the eight members of the House who stood up for the separation of church and state: John Conyers (D-MI 14), Donna Edwards (D-MD 04), Mazie Hirono (D-HI 02), Mike Honda (D-CA 15), Jim McDermott (D-WA 07), Ron Paul (R-TX 14), Bobby Scott (D-VA 03), Pete Stark (D-CA 13). Alternatively, you can call the Capitol Switchboard at (202) 224-3121 and thank the members that way.

To see how your representative voted, click here.

Click here to thank the members.